Jean Tinguely: Ein Schweizer Bildhauer, berühmt für seine kinetischen Werke

Jean Tinguely

Jean Tinguely war ein bekannter Schweizer Künstler, der 1925 in Fribourg geboren wurde. Er schuf Kunst, die die Automatisierung und Technologie in der Überproduktion von Waren persiflierte. Schon als junger Bursche in den späten 1930er Jahren schuf er einzigartige hängende Kulturen, die mit Hilfe von Motoren in Bewegung gesetzt wurden. Später nannte er seine Kunstform der mechanisierten Skulpturen „Méta-mécaniques“ (meta-mechanische Geräte).

In seiner Jugend arbeitete Tinguely als Lehrling bei einem Schaufensterdekorateur. Seine natürliche künstlerische Begabung führte ihn 1945 zum Besuch der Kunstgewerbeschule. Die Kunstgewerbeschule war in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts in den deutschsprachigen Ländern eine Berufsfachschule für Kunst. Ende der 1950er Jahre schuf er eine Reihe automatischer Zeichenmaschinen namens Meta-Matics, bei denen er Marker wie Kreide verwendete, um abstrakte Kunst durch ein mechanisiertes Verfahren zu schaffen.

Tinguely war ein Pionier einer Kunstform, die zu sozialem Engagement anregt, indem die Betrachter einen Hebel ziehen oder einen Knopf drücken, um die Kunstwerke in Bewegung zu setzen. Seine Konstruktionen verbinden Skulpturen aus Gerümpel mit Kinetik. Die Skulpturen waren oft ironisch, witzig oder humorvoll.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg versuchte sich Tinguely in der surrealistischen Malerei, gab diese aber zugunsten seiner Bildhauerei auf. Im Jahr 1960 war er auch einer der Künstler, die das Manifest der Nouveaux Réalistes unterzeichneten.

Heureka von Jean Tinguely - Zürichhorn, Zürich
Heureka von Jean Tinguely – Zürichhorn, Zürich

Wer hat Jean Tinguely inspiriert?

Mehrere Künstler und Kreative inspirierten Jean Tinguely zu seinen Werken, allen voran der Dekorateur Joos Hunter, bei dem er in die Lehre ging. Hunter verhalf ihm zum Eintritt in die Kunstgewerbeschule in Basel. Hier entdeckte er Dada und wurde durch die Werke von Kurt Schwitters beeinflusst.

Die Kunstbewegung Dada war eine Kunstbewegung, die während des Ersten Weltkriegs in Zürich entstand. Die Kunstform war eine negative Reaktion auf die Abscheu vor dem Krieg. Die Arbeit der Dada-Künstler in Form von Kunst, Poesie und Performances war oft satirischer Natur. Das Ziel der Dada-Künstler war es, eine Gesellschaft in Frage zu stellen, die einen Krieg beginnen und verlängern konnte. Sie waren gegen den Krieg, gegen das Bürgertum und hatten politische Ansichten, die der radikalen Linken zuzuordnen waren.

Der Schriftsteller Hugo Ball war der Begründer des Dadaismus. 1916 eröffnete er in Zürich einen satirischen Nachtclub. Die Bewegung wurde international und bildete später die Grundlage für den Surrealismus in Paris.

Dadaistische Künstler, die Tinguely beeinflussten, waren Otto Piene und seine ZERO-Gruppe, Martial Raysse, Yves Klein und Niki de Saint Phalle, die er später heiratete und mit der er für den Rest seiner Karriere zusammenarbeitete.

Tinguelys angeborenes Interesse an selbstangetriebenen Bewegungen und andere Künstler, die Kunst mit Hilfe von Kinetik und Robotik entwickelten, inspirierten diese Kreativen zusätzlich,

Welche Materialien verwendet Jean Tinguely?

Die meisten seiner verrückten motorisierten Kunstwerke schuf Tinguely aus wiederverwerteten Materialien, die er fand. Dazu gehörten Blechdosen, Räder und anderer Metallschrott. Die von ihm entwickelten Roboter können sich selbständig bewegen, Musik machen, die Zuschauer zum Mitmachen anregen oder sich selbst zerstören. Er befestigte Drahträder an flachen Pappstücken, die auf einer Seite schwarz und auf der anderen Seite weiß gestrichen waren. Er hat sie mit geraden Gegenständen zu einem ineinander greifenden System verflochten. Er balancierte das Ensemble auf einem Eisenstativ mit Beinen, die linear zu den geraden Objekten waren.

Tinguely wurde vom Tod besessen, nachdem er durch chronisches Rauchen gesundheitlich geschwächt war. Er begann, tierische Materialien wie Knochen und Schädel in seine Kunst einzubeziehen.

Berühmte Kunstwerke von Jean Tinguely

Strawinsky-Brunnen in Paris – Jean Tinguely & Niki de Saint Phalle

Want To Save This For Later?

I will email this post to you, so you read it for later (or keep for reference).

Tinguely präsentierte seine kinetischen und robotischen Kunstformen zunächst in Ausstellungen, oft zusammen mit anderen Künstlern. Seine erste Einzelausstellung fand in der Galerie Arnaud in Paris statt, wo er der Kunstwelt seine selbstfahrenden, ratternden Maschinen vorstellte. Im Jahr 1953 veranstaltete er zusammen mit dem rumänischen Tänzer und Künstler Daniel Spoerri eine Live-Veranstaltung mit dem Namen Autothéâtre (Automatisches Theater).

1971 heiratete Tinguely die Künstlerin Niki de Saint-Phalle. Die beiden begannen eine Reihe von Brunnenprojekten und arbeiteten gemeinsam an dem heute berühmten Strawinsky-Brunnen vor dem Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris. Es hat 16 mechanische Vögel, die Wasser spritzen. Weitere Brunnen sind der Lebensretter-Brunnen auf der Königstraße in Duisburg, Deutschland, der Jo-Siffert-Brunnen in Fribourg, Schweiz, sowie der Tinguely- und der Fasnachtsbrunnen in Basel, Schweiz.

Heute befinden sich Tinguelys Werke unter anderem in der National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC, im Nationalmuseum Reina Sofia in Madrid, in der Tate Gallery in London und im Kunstmuseum Basel.

Tingeuly-Brunnen in Basel, Schweiz
Tinguely-Brunnen in Basel, Schweiz

Hommage an New York

Tinguely war ein echter Schausteller, der mit seinen Performances und Veranstaltungen in Kunstgalerien um die Welt reiste. Eine der berühmtesten war seine Hommage an New York im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art im Jahr 1960. Der Roboter, der sich vor einem Live-Publikum selbst zerstören sollte, erfüllte diese Aufgabe nur teilweise, bevor er in Brand geriet. Die NYFD wurde gerufen, um die Flammen zu löschen.

In den 1970er Jahren bezieht Tinguely Elemente der Musik in seine Werke ein. In seiner Meta-Harmonie-Serie spielten die Konstruktionen ihre eigenen Musikinstrumente. Im Jahr 1987 fand eine große Retrospektive im Palazzo Grassi in Venedig statt. Er fasste 94 Maschinenskulpturen zu einer großen Gruppe zusammen.

Eines seiner bekanntesten Werke ist der Luminator (1991 ), der bis 2014 als Leihgabe im EuroAirport Basel-Mulhouse stand. Seine Skulptur Narva (1961), die aus Metallteilen besteht, wurde 2006 bei Christie’s in London für 198.400 £ verkauft.

Tinguely-Brunnen

Tinguely-Brunnen
Tinguely-Brunnen – Bild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Marius Watz

1977 schuf Tinguely in Basel einen Brunnen, der zu einem Wahrzeichen der Schweizer Stadt wurde. Der flache Brunnen ist mit mechanischen Figuren ausgestattet, die mit Niederspannung betrieben werden, Wasser spritzen und herumtanzen, als ob sie miteinander sprechen würden. Die 10 Eisenfiguren wurden auf der Bühne des alten Stadttheaters aufgestellt und stellen die Schauspieler, Mimen und Tänzer dar, die dort einst auftraten.

Tinguely-Museum

Jean Tinguely starb 1991 in der Schweizer Stadt Bern. Die grösste Sammlung seiner Werke befindet sich im 1996 eröffneten Museum Tinguely in Basel. Es liegt am Rhein und wurde von dem Tessiner Architekten Mario Botta entworfen. Die ständige Sammlung umfasst vier Jahrzehnte des Schaffens von Tinguely. Eine Reihe von Künstlern, darunter die Einflussnehmer Kurt Schwitters und Marcel Duchamp sowie die begleitenden Künstler Arman, Niki de Saint Phalle und Yves Klein, werden in Sonderausstellungen vorgestellt.

Written by Ashley Faulkes
As a twenty-year resident of Switzerland, I am passionate about exploring every nook and cranny of this beautiful country, I spend my days deep in the great Swiss outdoors, and love to share these experiences and insights with fellow travel enthusiasts.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Jean Tinguely: A Swiss Sculptor Famous For His Kinetic Works

Jean Tinguely

Jean Tinguely was a prominent Swiss artist born in Fribourg, Switzerland in 1925. He created art that satirized automation and technology in the overproduction of goods. As a young lad in the late 1930s, he was already creating unique hanging cultures that were propelled into motion by using motors. Later, he dubbed his art form of mechanized sculptures “Méta-mécaniques” (meta-mechanical devices.)

In his youth, Tinguely worked as an apprentice for a window display designer. His natural artistic ability led him to attend the Kunstgewerbeschule in 1945. Kunstgewerbeschule was a vocational arts school in German-speaking countries during the mid-19th century. By the late 1950s, he had created a sequence of automatic drawing machines called Meta-Matics by using markers such as chalk to create abstract art through a mechanized procedure.

Tinguely was a pioneer in an art form that induces social engagement in which spectators pull a lever or push a button to engage the artworks into motion. His constructions combined sculptures made of junk with kinetics. The sculptures were often ironic, witty, or humorous.

Tinguely dabbled in Surrealist painting after World War II but abandoned the art form in favor of his sculpturing. In 1960, he was also one of a number of artists who signed the manifesto of Nouveaux Réalistes.

Heureka by Jean Tinguely - Zürichhorn, Zurich
Heureka by Jean Tinguely – Zürichhorn, Zurich

Who Inspired Jean Tinguely?

Several artists and creatives inspired the works of Jean Tinguely beginning with decorator Joos Hunter whom he apprenticed for. Hunter helped him gain entrance to Basel’s School of Arts and Crafts. Here he discovered Dada and was influenced by the works of Kurt Schwitters.

The art movement known as Dada was an art movement that began during Zurich’s first world war. The art form was a negative reaction to the revulsion of war. The work of Dada artists through art, poetry, and performances was often satirical in nature. The goal of Dada artists was to question a society that could start a war and prolong it. They were anti-war, anti-bourgeois, and had political views that aligned with the radical left.

Writer Hugo Ball was the founder of Dada. He opened a satirical nightclub in Zurich in 1916. The movement became international and later formed the basis for surrealism in Paris.

Dada artists who influenced Tinguely were Otto Piene and his ZERO group, Martial Raysse, Yves Klein, and Niki de Saint Phalle who he later married and collaborated for the rest of his career.

Adding to the inspiration of these creatives was Tinguely’s innate interest in self-propelled motion and other artists who were developing art using kinetics and robotics,

What Materials Does Jean Tinguely Use?

Tinguely created most of his madcap motorized art from recycled materials he found. This included tin cans, wheels, and other scrap metal. The robotics he created could move on their own, make music, encourage spectator participation, or self-destruct. He attached wire wheels to pieces of flat cardboard painted black on one side and white on the other. He intertwined them with stick-straight objects to form an interlocking system. He balanced the assemblage above an iron tripod with legs that were linear to the straight objects.

Tinguely became obsessed with death after suffering health related to chronic smoking. He began incorporating animal materials such as bones and skulls into his art.

Famous Artworks of Jean Tinguely

Stravinsky Fountain in Paris – Jean Tinguely & Niki de Saint Phalle

Tinguely first presented his kinetics and robotics art forms in exhibitions often along with other artists. His first solo show was at Galerie Arnaud in Paris in which he presented his self-propelled, clanging machines to the world of art. In 1953, he held a live event along with Romanian dancer and artist Daniel Spoerri called the Autothéâtre (Automatic theater.)

Tinguely married artist Niki de Saint-Phalle in 1971. The two began a series of fountain projects and collaborated on the now-famous Stravinsky Fountain placed outside Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris. It features 16 mechanical birds that spout water. Other fountains include the Lifesaver Fountain on Königstrasse in Duisburg, Germany, Jo Siffert Fountain in Fribourg, Switzerland, and the Tinguely and Carnival fountains in Basel, Switzerland.

Today, Tinguely’s works are included in the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC, the Reina Sofia National Museum in Madrid, the Tate Gallery in London, the Kunstmuseum Basel, and others.

Tingeuly Fountain in Basel, Switzerland
Tinguely Fountain in Basel, Switzerland

Homage to New York

Tinguely was a true showman as he traveled the world staging performances and events in art galleries. One of the most famous was his Homage to New York at New York’s Museum of Modern Art in 1960. Designed to self-destruct in front of a live audience, the robotic machine only partially performed the task before catching on fire. The NYFD was summoned to put out the flames.

During the 1970s, Tinguely incorporated elements of music into his works. In his Meta-Harmonie series, the constructions played their own musical instruments. In 1987, he held a large retrospective in Venice’s Palazzo Grassi. He brought 94 machine sculptures together into one large group.

One of his most famous works is the Luminator (1991) which was on loan to the EuroAirport Basel-Mulhouse until 2014. His sculpture Narva (1961) constructed of metal parts sold at Christie’s, London in 2006 for £198,400.

Tinguely Fountain

Tinguely Fountain
Tinguely Fountain – Image courtesy of Marius Watz

In 1977, Tinguely created a fountain in Basel that became a landmark in the Swiss city. The shallow fountain features low-voltage powered mechanical figures that spout water and dance around as if in conversation with each other. Created on the stage where the old city theater once stood, the 10 iron figures represent the actors, mimes, and dancers that use to perform there.

Tinguely Museum

Jean Tinguely died in the Swiss city of Bern in 1991. His greatest collection of works is housed at the Tinguely Museum in Basel opened in 1996. It’s situated on the River Rhine and was designed by Ticinese architect Mario Botta. The permanent collection spans four decades of Tinguely’s works. A range of artists including influencers Kurt Schwitters and Marcel Duchamp and companion artists Arman, Niki de Saint Phalle, and Yves Klein are presented in special exhibitions.

Written by Ashley Faulkes
As a twenty-year resident of Switzerland, I am passionate about exploring every nook and cranny of this beautiful country, I spend my days deep in the great Swiss outdoors, and love to share these experiences and insights with fellow travel enthusiasts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *